7 December 2016

Most Anticipated Reads of 2017


Add these to your to-read list immediately...

Last year when I made a post similar to this, I managed to tick off every book I listed bar one - however I do own that book and am planning to read it super soon. In the photo you'll see my most anticipated reads of 2016. I loved some while others didn't quite live up to expectations. I'm so excited to babble on about my most anticipated reads for next year - there are so many good releases coming out.

Doing It by Hannah Witton - out April 6
I was so excited when I heard YouTuber Hannah Witton was coming out with a book. If you didn't know, on her channel she talks about sex (among other things) and this book is going to be all about that - her experiences (getting personal!), consent, relationships, the digital age, and so on. It will be a perfect book for teenagers and young adults alike. I love watching Hannah's videos such as the Hormone Diaries series she does, where she talks about her journey with coming off the pill and exploring other forms of contraception, and just talking about sex and contraception in general - I highly recommend it!

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman - out May 4
When one of your favourite authors reads an advanced copy, gives it 5 stars, and raves about it, you add it to your to-read list immediately. From the looks of it, this is about a girl who is a creature of habit and lives a very normal life - one that she is completely fine with, but maybe she isn't actually fine with it all. One simple act of kindness can change everything. From all the 5 star reviews I've seen on Good Reads so far, I'm so excited to read this when it comes out!

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt - out February 1
'For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins' - nothing gets me more interested than that. Upon reading the summary this sounds very much like something Rainbow Rowell would write, and I am so up for that. This book follows two characters, Lexi and Aidan, at a convention centre, and it sounds as though their personalities clash quite a lot. If this is anything like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (and it definitely has similar vibes), I know I'm going to absolutely love this.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli - out April 11
I absolutely loved Becky Albertalli's book Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Like so, so much. It was such an accessible, hilarious, cute read that I finished reading it at 2am with happy tears in my eyes. It's rare when a book like that comes along, so that's why I'm so excited for Becky's second book, which I'm hoping is going to stir up some of the same magic. If you didn't realise from the title, this is about unrequited love (relatable much?!). I think the characters Becky comes up with are amazing, and by the sounds of the summary these ones will be too.

Difficult Women by Roxanne Gay - out January 3
I haven't yet read Roxanne's pretty famous book Bad Feminist (although I want to), but I absolutely can't wait to read Difficult Women - it sounds fantastic. This is apparently a collection of stories which explores the lives of various different women. Women who are frigid, misunderstood, married, have children, have loads of sex, have no sex, etc. I have a really good feeling about this book, and you should add it to your TBR if you're interested in feminism!

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard - January 12
I've been meaning to read Beautiful Broken Things, which is Sara Barnard's first book, for a while. I've finally picked up a copy and am excited to read it, because it has so many great reviews, especially some from authors or bloggers I love! This book seems to be getting reviews along the same lines. A Quiet Kind of Thunder follows a girl who is a selective mute and a boy at her school who is deaf. Even though someone is quiet, it doesn't mean they don't have a voice. This looks to be a beautiful depiction of social anxiety with a subtle love story.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas - out February 28
This book is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, issues of racism and police violence. Starr Carter moves between the poor neighbourhood she lives in and the fancy prep school she attends. She witnesses the shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil - he was unarmed. If this rings a bell, you'll know just how much it's inspired by some of the shootings that have happened in 2016 and before. This seems like such a timely, important book that is going to be big next year.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber - out January 31
This is the only fantasy book on the list, but I think it's going to be a good one! This definitely has The Night Circus vibes, and it's a story about two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter a dangerous game called 'Caraval'. It looks like this book has loads of fantasy, magic, twists and turns. This book has been described as very whimsical, magical, romantic and enchanting. I love reading fantasy at selective times, so this is going to be one I'll enjoy when I'm in the mood for it.



These are releases from more of the beginning of 2017 so I'm sure there's loads more exciting books coming out. Let me know if you have any books you're anticipating!

You can check out my Good Reads page where I mark everything I want to read and have read. Let me know if you mark any of these books to-read.


-Emma

SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Blogger Template Created by pipdig